Forgotten your password?


find a sitter be a sitter
Karen and Geoff

House sitter
Karen and Geoff

My children and I lived on a 10 acre block in Waimauku for several years and cared for a variety of animals including cats, dogs, hens, sheep, cows, and the occasional rabbit and duck! Because of Geoff's years spent at sea his opportunities to care for pets have been limited, but in his younger years his family owned cats, dogs and budgies.

Geoff and I spend the summer months,October through to April, in New Zealand, which is when we are available for house sitting. We have a yacht berthed in Penang, Malaysia, and we are there during New Zealand's winter months. Geoff has spent nearly 13 years cruising in South East Asia, and I joined him in 2012.

Geoff is a shipwright and is capable of servicing a wide range of appliances, machinery etc.He served in the New Zealand navy for 8 years and after leaving he worked as a commercial diver whilst building his first yacht. After sailing for many years in the Pacific, Australia, Africa and Europe, he settled in Brisbane, where he set up his shipwright business. He then built his second yacht and set sail for South East Asia.

My previous working life involved a variety of positions, including working as a supervisor in a childcare centre in Waimauku, Auckland, and then as a sterile services technician at North Shore hospital in Auckland. I have two sons who live in the Netherlands and Belgium, and 1 grandson.

Because of our lifestyle on the yacht we are organised and tidy in our habits. We enjoy exploring new environments, so house sitting promises to be a great way to meet new people, have some much-needed interaction with animals again, and reunite us with different parts of our country after being away for so many years. Although we are away from New Zealand at times, we are always able to participate in video calls via either Skype or What's App.

Back Enquire about Karen and Geoff